The Best F-ing Chili Recipe on Earth!

20 Apr

On Mon, Apr 19, 2010 at 8:15 PM, Farlan Dowell <farlandowell@gmail.com> wrote:

Dear Chili Bros. –

First of all, I’d like to thank you for your contribution to yesterday’s pre-chili-cook-off.  I couldn’t have done it without you!

It was actually an integral team play – had Gary not dragged me from my hazed, hungover, half conscious, sleep – I would have likely lay there for another three solid hours knowing that I have no way of retrieving the beast that is the G37 at the ViceRoy.  Alas, with car in hand, coconut juice in belly, and fuck-all-to-do, I hit the grocery store (which is really the only place I feel like jumping up and clicking my heels – as crazy as it may sound).  As for Duncan’s contribution – well, mate, you threw one ‘up-and-on-the-inside’ (baseball expression, lymey), when it came to putting whole pieces of meat in the chili – the result was the ground up chuck beef you tasted last evening.  Good call.

I would like to quickly recap what went into the Chili yesterday for posterity, as well to identify improvements and divide up duties and logistics for the showdown, May 01.

Ingredients:
– 1.5 lbs Pork Shoulder (dry rubbed with select spices) (no bone, seared/burnt on the grill for 10 – 15 minutes)
– 1.5 lbs Beef Chuck Roast (ground up only once)
– Onion
– Garlic
– Stewed Tomatoes
– Crushed Tomatoes
– Kidney Beans
– Can of Green Giant Corn
– One Green Pepper (may want to put two)
– Sugar
– Salt
– Cilantro
– Six fresh tomatoes (stewed with cilantro)
– Cumin
– Worcestershire sauce (thick)
– Chili Pepper
– Can of Chipotle Peppers
– Brown Box Chili Mix
– One Red Habanero Pepper
– Can of beef broth
– Half to a full beer (halfway through cooking )

Active prep time approx one hour.

Simmer approximately six hours.

The major lesson learned is to cut the seeds out of the chipotle peppers so you get the smokey flavor, without the burn upfront.  I’ll opt for Cayenne Pepper which should give it a subtle smooth after-burn.  Duncan, I’m also in favor of you putting together some type of sweet onion / herb mixture as a topping / garnish.

Now, it’s onto the competition!  Let’s meet at my place, then go over to Baja with the equipment and ingredients.  I’m calling a 7am start time Saturday morning (I’ll be at the BBQ pre-searing the Pork), as the competition begins at 9am.

Farlan

P.S. Duncan, please bring some sugar for the coffee.

Leave a Reply

